Show EventsEMailPrint

Discover Psychology Public Lecture Series - Archive

Discover Psychology Public Lecture Series

Watch the Discover Psychology CommercialScience you can use

If you think you can’t use the science you learn in the classroom, think again…

The Department of Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour and the McMaster Alumni Association invite you to Discover Psychology: Science You Can Use.

Unlike traditional colloquium, this special public lecture series is aimed towards students, staff, faculty, alumni, and all members of the public. The lectures feature dynamic McMaster professors discussing fascinating and practical topics related to the field of Psychology.

Where?

The talks take place on Friday afternoons in Psychology Complex 155 (PC-155) with light refreshments available at 2:45 p.m. followed by the lecture from 3:00 to 4:00p.m, and are free of charge.

Register for these events (free!)

2016 Discover Psychology Public Lecture Series

Date Lecture Title Location
Fri Sep 25, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Steven Brown “Tango and the brain: the neural basis of dance” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 2, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Shep Siegel The Ghost in the Addict: Drug anticipation and Drug Addiction McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 9, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Martin Daly, “Risk-taking, Inequality and Homicide” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 16, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
David Feinberg: The Science of Sexual Attraction McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 23, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Joe Kim, “The F-bomb and Lessons from Language” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 30, 2009
No talk this week (Midterm break) -
Fri Nov 6, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
David Musson "The Human Factor" McMaster University - PC155
Fri Nov 13, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Daphne Maurer, “Blue Notes and Sharp Chicken: The Linked Senses of Synaesthesia” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Nov 20, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Geoff Norman, “Kids, Cats and Concepts” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Nov 27, 2009
2:30pm - 3:20pm
Gautam Ullal, “Whose Face is it Anyway?” McMaster University - PC155
Fri Sep 17, 2010 - Fri Sep 17, 2010
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Laurel Trainor "The origins of music rhythm in movement" McMaster University - PC155
Fri Sep 24, 2010 - Fri Sep 24, 2010
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Dan Goldreich "Believing is seeing: expectation, sensation, and perception" McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 1, 2010 - Fri Oct 1, 2010
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Martin Daly "Evolved Decision Processes and Rational Choice" McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 8, 2010 - Fri Oct 8, 2010
2:30pm - 3:30pm
David Shore "Confusing the mind by crossing the hands" McMaster University - PC155
Fri Oct 15, 2010 - Fri Oct 15, 2010
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Terri Lewis "First sight: What babies see" McMaster University - PC155

Page 1 of 4

Supported by:

psychology mcmaster-alumni